Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Bid for Same-sex Marriage in DC may come next week

During this busy holiday season, you may have missed this article in the Washington Times on the District government's effort to legalize same-sex marriage. According to the Times, a majority of the DC City Council and the mayor support same-sex marriage. Therefore, if proposed a same-sex marriage measure would likely pass. Other sources have said the Council may be planning to act as early as next week on January 6 2009. Considering all of the issues that challenge our wonderful city, such as crime and troubled public schools, is this how we want our leaders spending their time and our tax dollars? Do a majority of the people of the District of Columbia support gay marriage?

If you aren't in favor of same-sex marriage becoming law in Washington DC, please let your councilmember know. Here's their contact information:

Council Offices
Vincent C. Gray, Council Chairman
Suite: 504
vgray@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8032
Fax: (202) 724-8085

David A. Catania, Councilmember (At-Large)
Suite: 110
dcatania@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-7772
Fax: (202) 724-8087

Phil Mendelson, Councilmember (At-Large)
Suite: 402
pmendelson@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8064
Fax: (202) 724-8099

Kwame R. Brown, Councilmember (At-Large)
Suite: 506
kbrown@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8174
Fax: (202) 724-8156

Jim Graham, Councilmember (Ward 1)
Suite: 105
jgraham@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8181
Fax: (202) 724-8109

Jack Evans, Councilmember (Ward 2)
Suite: 106
jackevans@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8058
Fax: (202) 727-8023

Mary M. Cheh, Councilmember (Ward 3)
Suite: 108
mcheh@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8062
Fax: (202) 724-8118

Muriel Bowser, Councilmember (Ward 4)
Suite: 406
mbowser@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8052
Fax: (202) 741-0908

Harry Thomas, Jr., Councilmember (Ward 5)
Suite: 107
hthomas@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8028
Fax: (202) 724-8076

Tommy Wells, Councilmember (Ward 6)
Suite: 408
twells@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8072
Fax: (202) 724-8054

Yvette M. Alexander, Councilmember (Ward 7)
Suite: 400
yalexander@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8068
Fax: (202) 741-0911

Marion Barry, Councilmember (Ward 8)
Suite: 102
mbarry@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202) 724-8045
Fax: (202) 724-8055

No comments: